2012 in writing

2012, year of writing!

Best writing experience was the script writing unit, working with actors, learning to write better dialogue. My first scene that the director edited she took every second line out, and it sounded ten times better.

Second best was working on the Beautiful Outlaws, becoming so obsessed with the Gemma Barker case I had a dream of her speaking on the phone to Jessica wasn’t so fun. But working with the blurred boundaries of it was thought provoking and different.

Favourite poetry book of this year is Sharon Old’s Stag’s Leap.

Favourite prose writing I’ve done would be all the short stories I wrote for CAKE’s weekly write in. Thanks to the motivation from that it’s been like discovering a new world, that means even greater absorption in writing than poetry in a way.

Taking part in NANOWRIMO for the first time was great. I’m proud I finished, there were a few moments I nearly gave up. Sheer stubbornness pushed me forwards and the word count graph.

Favourite event was probably Aurelia Lassaque at Blank Media Gallery. Having the chance to talk to her, hear her read and perform myself was amazing.

Exhibition I’ve visited the most would have to be Cornerhouse’s David Shrigley, How are you feeling? I took my brother, I sketched the model, went with Sarah and Ben on Boxing Day, and actually toted the weary load:

The Burden

The Burden

 

Festivals taken part in, volunteered at, workshopped at include: Flaming Skirt Festival, AND festival, Manchester Children’s Book, Festival, Manchester Literature Festival, Sapphormation Festival.

 

Next Year Aims:

Work on more ekphrasis based poetry.

Keep writing prose.

Try to develop another script.

Read more!

Sort the kindle out!!! I miss my electronic book library.

 

Leave a comment