NaPoWriMo: Day 19

Jo Bell’s prompt led me to this poem, which led to this poem:

Dirge

the sound water makes lapping the sides of a barge;

the stink of a stolen perfume called Lola;

the daily flick of a newspaper between the hands, the slap of headlines;

running a finger over a broken keyed piano;

the grit that you clean from a oyster shell before you swallow. 

 

I have to mention Cathy Byrant has done an ekphrasis response poem to a photo of Frida Kahlo today which is amazing, check it out here 

Short ekphrasis of my own, I think I’ve overwritten myself and gotten strange. Art chosen by Charmain Leung:

Twombley

 

dribble, rake drape and dash

it might be hidden it might escape

the break and tumult the flee and fall

you are right the song was made for you

 

I listed each attribute, I remixed you with 

me, I memorised your face.

 

curdle cuddle safe and slash

you are wrong I was thinking of someone else

and you got confused with that person

so actually I wrote a version that 

makes you and them merge

not two headed but overlapped

 

seek and find and drip and splash. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo: Day 19

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo~19 | A Life Worth Living

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo (# 19): Why have you gone away.. | Thinking aloud….

  3. Pingback: Two Voices, One Song

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 19, ‘Bitter Sunset’ | O2B heavenly minded

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo: Last Day Part I | beccaaudra

  6. Pingback: April’s Final Poetry Challenge Day | Two Voices, One Song

Leave a Reply

