NaPoWriMo: Day 13

Here’s what I wrote today:

 

 

For a few days after we got back, still I was warm from the sun,

a different creature to the one that haunts English skies-

here, we camouflage ourselves in grey,

make-believe if we wear black the rain will ignore us.

 

There, you wear white like the houses wear it

flushing crimson come sunset, a white

that seems to have a persistent dialogue

with the sun, it chatters like a bird of early morning

glaring, these houses  made me flinch like so many eyes

without pupils, the white blank gaze they turned on me.

 

I am familiar with brick and damp walls,

I console myself on a bad day that the grizzling weather

partakes in my mood, always sure of a wind in my face

 

Without this constant stress, the battle to stay warm,

I feel loose thoughts cannon ball round in my head

I load the guns, I fire them at nothing, and lately,

I’ve taken to walking where the clouds gather

waiting, hopeful, for the dashing drops.

 

One thought on “NaPoWriMo: Day 13

  1. Beautiful poem Becca. Particularly like the line ‘made me flinch like so many eyes
    without pupils, the white blank gaze they turned on me.’
    and the final line x

Leave a Reply

