NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 1

Using The Poetry School’s prompt, kindly shared by Janet Rogerson.

Here’s your first NaPoWriMo prompt, from Linda Black. ‘Pick a book at random , open at pages 5, 12, 17, 21, choose 3 words quickly from each page, without deliberating. Use these as a starting point for a poem.’

I’ve used Best of Manchester Poets Volume 3, I’ll list the poets and poems at the end.

 

Decorator

I am making paper dolls, thin and frail.

They tear at the elbows, at the knees

as my hands skirt the paper.

I need to make many, enough

to furbish a shrunken house.

 

All day I work. At night

they dance in my pupil’s

narrow wells, I try to keep

in the submission of sleep,

 

but awake, breathe in the dark

like it’s gin, sloe berries

madly pop in my blood, then tumble

back, my dreams twisted fables.

 

I rise, heavy-eyed as Lazarus,

to find myself plastered, from wrist to elbow,

from toe to thigh, in their diminuitive shapes,

all night they’ve been lettering me.

 

Prompt words

p, 5 Adrain Slatcher, Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs as Workshop Poem

need, refurbished, letter

p,12 Midnight Shelley, Inside Out

frail, submission,tore

p,17 Camille Ralphs, Lazarus in Flames

lazarus, mad, fabling

p,21 Edmund Prestwich, Chiesa di Santa Anastasia, Verona

twisted, pupils, shrunk

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 2013: Day 1

  1. Good going! I like the progression, starting with the words you gathered and then the finished piece. I also like the imagery and emotion conveyed. I think I might have a go with this. Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Reality Unmasked.. | Thinking aloud….

Leave a Reply

