Blog 15: Memorial Museum

Hellooooo,

I’ve been away for a week visiting Brighton and London, so I’ve fallen off the blog waggon but I am clambering back on. I wrote four poems on the two hour train journey back to Manchester from London, but now I’ve typed them up none of them look as good as they did on the train you know? I am going to share one I wrote after a museum trip. Specifically the Natural History Museum  (South Kensington Tube stop), follow the link for their Dino-Directory.

First we went to the Darwin Centre, I was expecting a Darwin statue and loads of facts about Darwin, but actually it was filled with pinned up butterflies and beetles and fancy computers with digitalised curators. One of them told me that they were able to pin 100 butterflies a day. I say told me, she was a projection on a white wall that moved its mouth in time to the sound coming from speakers. So that was strange. I think I am not used to the so modern techno techno style. Although I did enjoy playing catch the mosquito with a touch screen game thing.

Then we went to see the dinosaurs, which was well good! I loved the dinosaur skeleton statues and the crazy names. And then I had this idea to turn a dinosaur poem in an Alice Oswald Memorial style poem. I’m afraid it’s really silly actually. I decided my extended similies were going to be where the human comes in, as Oswald uses them to bring animals in, so I reversed that. And even though in my former Memorial blog post I said I did not have the confidence to repeat myself, I was like why not. I can only apologise to Alice Oswald.

MASSOSPONDYLUS stalked the woods for fruit

Gripped the vegetation and bit

Its large thumb-claw caked in the dirt

Of a bacteria-rich land, swamp-dweller

Chomping down spiders whose eight legs

Were gnashed by these sharp-toothed jaws

 

Like a child tortures insects

Pulling the wings from flies

Pouring salt on a slug

Frog legs dance on a plate

Sliding down the adult’s throat.

 

Like a child tortures insects

Pulling the wings from flies

Pouring salt on a slug

Frog legs dance on a plate

Sliding down the adult’s throat.

 

GALLIMIMUS gaping beak ready to swallow

And gulp at slick stew, legs speeding

Through desert plains surging into

A dusty boned past. A jelly neck

And a wobbling, juddering head

 

Like a model sashes her way down a catwalk

Skin shining and bones gleaming just beneath

The spiky lashed beaks of her eyes

Ready to gulp and swallow the cameras slick flash

Their long-legged, juddering pace.

 

Like a model sashes her way down a catwalk

Skin shining and bones gleaming just beneath

The spiky lashed beaks of her eyes

Ready to gulp and swallow the cameras slick flash

Their long-legged, juddering pace.

It was fun to write anyhow! I have two more dinosaurs I would like to write up but after the massive train poeming I thought I’d stop. I’ve been imaginative with their environments, and put the ostrich-dinosaur in a desert (GALLIMIMUS ). I mainly wanted distinctive dinosaur-feeling words, but if I were to do it properly I’d create research files on each dinosaur to keep in touch with where they were in what period etc, so it would be accurate as well as dinosaur sounding!

 

Leave a Reply

