Blog Tour: How’s writing work?

This post is part of Blog Tour, a series of posts by poets and fiction writers, in which they respond to four questions about their writing process. Janet Rogerson invited me to participate and here is a link to Janet’s blog, where you can find her amazing work. At the end of this post I’ll link to the next writers and so the blogging baton will be passed on.

1) What am I working on?

At the moment I am working on two series of pieces, poetry based. One is inspired by Ellen Gallagher’s Art Work Watery Ecstatic, and the myth of  Drexciya which I will outline:

According to the myth, Drexciya were those unborn children of the pregnant African women who, having learned to breath underwater in the womb, adapted seamlessly to life in the ocean and formed a sea population.

Watery Ecstatic at the Coral Exhibition at the Manchester Museum.

Watery Ecstatic at the Coral Exhibition at the Manchester Museum.

I am trying out watery free verse forms for this project. I am also thinking about a new series called The Moth-Wife. The first one of which I’ve only just started writing. I also have an ongoing Marilyn Monroe project, I aim to have twenty pieces at least where Marilyn Monroe lives a twenty first century life. These pieces are generally four/five line stanza based and are at once personal and very distant.

 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Putting poetry into a genre is sometimes hard. I would say I am lyrical, narrative based poetry, but my particular emphasis is normally on a type of dialogue with silence, in particular women’s silence and how it operates across time and situation.

 

3) Why do I write what I do?

I write because I enjoy the texture of words and link words to food quite a lot. Words occupy the same nature to me as food does, so it is partly an enjoyment of that.  I’m interested in writing for people, it helps to feel like I am writing for a person. Many of my poems begin because I feel for example, that Marilyn Monroe didn’t get a chance to talk enough so I better have a try at saying something to her.

 

4) How does your writing process work?

I write because words are the most familiar and reassuring tools to me, but they take me to new places and challenge my thinking which enables me to try out different vocabularies. I am always looking for topics, prompts, art, anything that will help me refine what I am trying to say. Each poem is a new attempt to say something powerfully with the best words and form possible. I also write out of my own silence, and a reluctance to talk till I know what I want to say. On the page you have absolute control over what you present which you never have in daily life. 

Next Writers:

Anna Percy‘s poetry is usually concerned with love, loss, losing your mind, the natural world and the surreal. She performs regularly in both Manchester and Norwich. She runs creative writing workshops, Shaken, and has a book published with Flapjack Press Livid Among the Ghostings. 

Sarah Grace Logan is an itinerant scribbler and general layabout. She runs a writing group called CAKE.shortandsweet and workshops as QuimPerfectTense. She has performed her work at Stirred Poetry, Bad Language and Tongue in Cheek Manchester. Her first publication, Humping the Boonies is a self-published chapbook available directly from the author, or from Travelling Man, Manchester.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour | A BAD INFLUENCE GIRL

Leave a Reply

